book review

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan

Rating: 5 stars

DSC_0341

“In your hands / You are holding / Life. / Death. / Love. / Forgiveness.”

Joe and his brother Ed haven’t seen each other for ten years – because Ed is on death row. Faced with the prospect of Ed’s execution date, Joe is desperate to spend the last summer with him, no matter what.

Written in verse, this is a beautiful, lyrical, heartbreaking and moving book. I raced through it, reading half of it during my morning commute and then the rest on my way home, resulting in me desperately trying to not cry on the train. There is so much to think about with this book, and I would love to discuss it with people – please please let me know if you’ve read it!

I know this is such a short review, but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone – it’s so nuanced and different from other YA books out there. Get your hands on a copy if you can and then let’s chat about this stunning book. Safe to say that Sarah Crossan has firmly established herself as one of my favourite authors (read my review of Apple and Rain also by Sarah here), and I cannot wait to read what she writes next.

2 thoughts on “Moonrise by Sarah Crossan”

  1. I read Moonrise earlier in summer and it’s such a great book, isn’t it?! I love the way that Sarah Crossan writes – I’ve also read One and The Weight of Water! I still need to read Apple and Rain though! She’s one of my favourite YA authors too! 🙂
    Marie x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

