book review

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Rating: 4 stars

“No mourners. No funerals.”

DSC_0106

Last year I read the first 2 books in the Grisha series (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm) and had originally wanted to conclude that series (with Ruin and Rising) before I started this duology, but curiosity got the better of me and I jumped in to Six of Crows back in January. After racing through it, I couldn’t wait to read Crooked Kingdom, whilst at the same time not wanting to finish with these characters.

Admittedly, CK didn’t quite feel as sharp as SoC, but it was still a hugely enjoyable read that hooked me from the start. I loved reuniting with the cast of characters (just don’t ask me to name a favourite) and couldn’t wait to find out what would happen in this instalment.

As I’ll keep this spoiler free, I won’t mention much of what happens in either books, but the twists and turns of the plot kept me guessing the whole time as to how the Crows (Kaz’s Crows, ie the true Crows) would achieve their various plans and how the finale would go down.

I guess I was a little disappointed with the ending, as I want to know more of what they got up to in the following months (perhaps that is just the reader’s greedy prerogative?) but the final chapter was an absolute gem.

A final word about the physical books themselves – I bought the hardbacks with the sprayed edges and they are absolutely stunning, with my favourite bit being the embossed crows on the front of each.

DSC_0109

One thing is for sure, I cannot wait for The Language of Thorns, and I sense a Grisaverse re-read is looming in the near future…

Leave a Reply

