book review

Lumberjanes: Beware the Kitten Holy

Rating: 5 stars

DSC_0085

I have to admit, I’m still relatively new to the graphic novel genre, but after a friend let me read her copy of Nimona (by Noelle Stevenson, who co-created this series), I’ve been hooked (and it backs up my belief that all books should have illustrations in them, whatever the reading age. ALL THE ILLUSTRATED BOOKS).

Lumberjanes centres around a group of five friends (Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley) who attend camp together. But this isn’t your bog-standard camp. Oh no. Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s camp (what a name) is for hard-core lady-types. Yup. You read that correctly. Not only that, but as the group seem to be discovering, not everything is quite as it seems, and there may be some supernatural extras happening alongside…

As the gang attempt to earn their camp badges, they stumble upon one mysterious thing after another, and I absolutely loved it. It was such a fun read, full of girl badass-ery, lovable characters (side note – can I ~please~ have April’s wardrobe?), and intriguing mysteries (kind of reminded me of Gravity Falls in that way, which, if you don’t watch already, you need to get on that, stat), and I cannot wait to read Vol 2.

If you’re looking for a super quick, super fun read with an excellent group of friends and peppered with supernatural mysteries, I urge you to try Lumberjanes.

Leave a Reply

