book review, competition

The Bookshop Girl by Sylvia Bishop // & competition

Rating: 5 stars

IMG_7780

I practically inhaled this book when I got a hold of it back in February, but it was only when a manager asked if I had written a review for it that I realised I hadn’t (shame on me, shame on my family, shame on my cow).

Found on the lost-property shelf in a bookshop at age 5, life for Property Jones is filled with books and all things bookshop related. But Prop has a secret. Not just any secret: Prop has never learnt to read. However, this doesn’t stop her from doing her best as she helps her family in their bookshop (even when her best includes hoovering over her own foot or getting slightly too close to her cup of tea).

The family’s quiet life is disrupted when they win a competition to take over the Montgomery Book Emporium, a magical bookshop where the floors are themed and move around (yes, you read that correctly. There are moving floors. I desperately want to visit). Despite the wonders that they seem to now be in charge of, including a rather grumpy cat called Gunther, the Joneses seem to have inherited a bit more than they bargained for and they soon discover there may be a more worrying reason why the bookshop was being given away. Will Property manage to save the Emporium and her family, defeat the bad guys and keep her secret from being found out?

This book is simply wonderful, full of humour and warmth, and it was a delight to read. Ashley King (who illustrated Bishop’s first book, the hugely enjoyable Erica’s Elephant) adds extra sparkle in the form of his illustrations. Perfect for early readers or as a bedtime (or frankly anytime) read aloud, and ideal for fans of Erica’s Elephant or Mango and Bambang, this story is guaranteed to raise a smile from those who read it.

(This review is also found here)

 

*** COMPETITION ***

C9C1f89XsAI9T9V

Scholastic, the publishers of The Bookshop Girl, have created a wonderful competition to nominate your favourite bookseller or librarian – the winning nominator (is that a word?) and nominee will win goodies such as signed copies of Sylvia and Ashley’s books (as the proud owner of a signed Erica’s Elephant copy, I can assure you it is an excellent prize) and much more. Simply email bookshopgirl@scholastic.co.uk with their name, which shop/library, and how they have made your book buying/borrowing experience special by June 30th.

Please note: I am in no way affiliated with Scholastic, Sylvia Bishop, Ashley King, or the competition – just wanted to spread the news of such a delightful competition. For more information, see here. Good luck!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s