book review

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Rating: 4 stars

DSC_0092

I have something to confess, dear reader. When I saw this book sitting on the proof shelf at work, I may have rolled my eyes at it. The cover, the title… I honestly did not think I would enjoy it at all. Which, now that I think about it, is completely ridiculous – I love fairy tale retellings, and I also love a certain (now ended) space-set tv show (BSG, I’m looking at you) – so why did I let the cover and title put me off for so long? Because I am a fool, that’s why.

Elle loves Starfield. And when I say love, I mean she fraking loves it. After being introduced to it as a kid by her dad, it is ~their thing~, to the point where he sets up ExcelsiCon in its honour. But as we all know from the original Cinderella story, Elle no longer has her father around, and instead lives under the dictatorship of her step-mother and twin step-sisters. All of whom do not understand any of the appeal of an old space-set tv show. That is, until, the series is rebooted with a new film, with an all new cast – with the lead role being nabbed by teen-hearthrob Darien, adored and obsessed over by the twins. In other words, someone Elle would gladly send deep into space so he can’t ruin her favourite thing in the world (or should that be universe?).

However, little does Elle know that Darien is, similarly, a huge Starfield fan, and is definitely feeling the pressure to live up to his own expectations, as well as prove the die-hard fans like Elle that he can do a good job. Can the fangirl and the Federation Prince cross their own galaxies, defeat their equivalent Nox Kings, and make it to the (ExcelsiCon Cosplay) Ball?

With some help from Elle’s fairy godmother of a friend (oh Sage, how I love you), an adorable dachshund, and a Magic Pumpkin (food truck), maybe, just maybe, they will…

This was such a fun and fluffy read, packed with pop cult refs (Star Wars/Trek, Firefly, Battlestar Galactica… the list goes on) and the best Cosplay creating fairy godmother anyone could ask for, I ask that you look past the cover, the title, the cheesy tagline. Oh, and one more thing:

“Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.”

(And so say we all.)

 

Leave a Reply

